Breastfeeding or Lactation Credentials

There are four main professional lactation credentials, each with their own merits.

  • International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC)
  • Certified Lactation Consultant (CLC)
  • Certified Lactation Educator or Lactation Educator (CLE or LE)
  • WIC Peer Counselor

The United States Lactation Consultant Association (USLCA) has created this brochure to outline the differences  in the various credentials available within the lactation field, specifically addressing the requirements for pre-requisites, education, and training required for each.

View the URL here (it appears in your full browser window):

[iframe src=”” width=”100%” height=”900″]